Comments: One vote for a cut on shadow MPC

What happened to Tim Congdon and Roger Bootle?

Posted by Minh at October 3, 2007 12:20 PM

Unlike the real MPC, which pays reasonably well for its members to turn up at the same time each month, the shadow MPC is a volunteer body. To get nine responses, it has to draw from a larger pool, which currently consists of 14 economists. This is how it puts it:

The Secretary of the SMPC is Kent Matthews of Cardiff Business
School, Cardiff University, and its Chairman is David B Smith
(University of Derby and Beacon Economic Forecasting). Other current members of the Committee include: Patrick Minford (Cardiff Business School, Cardiff University), Tim Congdon (London School of Economics), Gordon Pepper (Lombard Street Research and Cass Business School), Anne Sibert (Birkbeck College), Peter Warburton (Economic Perspectives Ltd), Roger Bootle (Deloitte and Capital Economics Ltd), John Greenwood (AMVESCAP), Peter Spencer (University of York), Andrew Lilico (Europe Economics), Ruth Lea (Centre for Policy Studies and Arbuthnot Banking Group) and Trevor Williams (Lloyds TSB Corporate Markets). Philip Booth (Cass Business School and IEA) is technically a non-voting IEA observer but is awarded a vote on occasion to ensure that a full set of nine votes is always cast.

Posted by David Smith at October 3, 2007 06:07 PM

What happens when more than 9 of the 14 respond?

Posted by Minh at October 3, 2007 06:44 PM

First come, first served

Posted by David Smith at October 3, 2007 06:51 PM